5 week update for Writing Workshop Enviro Writing

After reading Jill Gough’s recent blog post sharing Trinity teachers’ EL’s for 4th grade, I thought that would be a great way to check in with parents at our Writing Workshop 5 week mark. What should your child know and be able to do by now because of her work in Writing Workshop?  At the end of the first 5 weeks, students in Writing Workshop: Environmental Class should be able to say “I can..” to all of the following Essential Learnings:

Ideas:

  • I can evaluate websites using the ABCA method.
  • I can check facts by evaluating websites.
  • I can use quotations from other websites and blogs to support and inform my writing.
  • I can reference my sources by using hyperlinks in my blog posts.

Organization

  •  I can write with multiple paragraphs
  • I know why to avoid the unigraph
  • I can write with awareness of sequencing
  • I can write with a creative title

Word Choice:

  • I can use action verbs in my writing by avoiding “to be” verbs.

Envirowriting skills:

  • I am willing to learn and change my opinion as my learning increases. I can back-up my opinion with facts.
  • I can properly research through evaluating sources and citing my sources.
  • I can employ technology responsibly, safely, and with learning as the goal. I follow the RUP.
  • I can employ proper presentation for my writing on the blog (title, picture, links)
  • I can use Diigo to annotate websites, keep track of my reading, and share my thoughts with others.
  • I can use RSS to collect information about certain topics.

Responsibility

  • I turn in work on time.
  • I complete work according to directions (emails included).
  • I arrive on time, work on task and am prepared.
  • I use technology responsibly, safely, and with learning as my goal.
  • I am receptive to feedback and show growth in areas of weakness.

As we continue in the semester, we will continue building on other essential learnings of writing and participation and collaboration through individual research and reading, further writing practice through posting on the public blog and individual writing on personal blogs, and group presentation research projects about issues specific to the environment.

About epdwilliams

Junior High English Teacher The Westminster Schools
This entry was posted in Education, Standards Based Grading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 week update for Writing Workshop Enviro Writing

  1. jplgough says:

    P…Wow! This is so helpful. I love having the opportunity to reflect on my own writing and thinking through your lens. I appreciate having learning targets that help me analyze my ability to connect ideas, embrace ideas counter to my own, look at topics from another perspective, learn, share, and grow.

    Brava!

  2. Pingback: In an “I can …” culture: Embracing “What if” and “Yet“ | Experiments in Learning by Doing

  3. Pingback: In an “I can …” culture: Embracing “What if” and “Yet” (TBT Remix) | Experiments in Learning by Doing

Leave a Reply

