A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words

Pinterest has exploded on the social media scene as a new way to communicate your “likes” and “dislikes” and “faves” to all of your followers, without words. Now, as a word-lover, that last part seriously depresses me, but I take comfort in knowing that the old adage, “a picture is worth a thousand words” at least translates pictures back into words (however poor the exchange rate may be).

In December, my boyfriend SW proposed and we’re getting married in June. So, I’ve been recently focused less on writing about what I wish I learned in school (although that series WILL continue as soon as I get my feet back under me), and more on planning a beautiful wedding and celebration of our commitment to each other. As soon as my friends found out that SW and I were getting married, and quickly, they all cried, “you have to get on pinterest.” Now, I am one that uses facebook and twitter and other social media outlets for professional rather than personal reasons, so I was a bit hesitant to sign up for a site for a purely personal reason.

Yet, when trying to describe my vision for the flowers, or the cake, or the decorations at the reception to the wonderful people who could execute that vision, I found myself using thousands of words, still not quite being able to communicate well, and oft ending with the phrase, “I wish I had a picture.”

So I have given in, and I have found that in this case, pictures really are more effective at communicating what I’m looking for.

I’ve uploaded here some of the pictures that I’ve found in magazines that I like, so that I can use the beautiful button “pin it.” That way, when I meet with the next professional, I can say, “let me show you what I mean.” Enjoy!

All of these photos came out of wedding magazines from the December Issues. Unfortunately, since I ripped out the pictures, I can’t properly credit each one, but I think some were from The Knot, Georgia Weddings, Atlanta Weddings and other wedding publications. None of these pictures were originally taken by me.

About epdwilliams

Junior High English Teacher The Westminster Schools
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

