Who says words don’t matter?

I am tired. I am grumpy. I am angry. I am frustrated, fed-up, let-down, irate, and disgruntled.

When I say, “I am” and then add a descriptor after it, it is almost as if I asscribe that emotion permanently to myself. “I am frustrated” means that part of me will always be frustrated. Frustration becomes a permanent state. Like a stamp, marking me as such.  Obviously, overcoming frustration becomes much more difficult if I say, “I am frustrated.”

What if, instead, I say, “I feel frustrated.” No longer have I linked my identity with my emotion. When I feel something, I immediately acknowledge that the feeling will pass. I feel angry. Well, tomorrow I will probably not feel angry. There is a transience to feeling. I may feel differently in five minutes, but I am who I am until I die.

Just replacing “I am” with “I feel” when expressing negative emtions has helepd me to let go of those emotions more quickly.

I AM intrigued by the power of words!

About epdwilliams

Junior High English Teacher The Westminster Schools
This entry was posted in A Sustainable Life, Education, Pearls of Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who says words don’t matter?

  1. Bo Adams says:

    Peyten, I agree! I feel frustrated when I hear the phrase, “I am ADD,” or “he/she is ADD.” I much prefer, “I have ADD.” Thanks for this post.

  2. Flip Hager says:

    Similarly, I feel frustrated when people use the word ‘feel’ instead of ‘believe’ when they take a position on an issue or when they are making a statement about what they think. “I feel like you should go on that trip” comes off much better if you instead say, “I believe you should go on that trip.”

Leave a Reply

