The Power of a Checklist

I read somewhere once that Americans love lists. Top 10 lists, to do lists, grocery lists…. the list goes on. 🙂

Look around and see if that’s not right. Everywhere, we are innundated by lists: 100 most influential People, 10 diet tricks to try NOW!, 5 things people hate about you but won’t say, 20 ways to get ahead at the office….

We love lists. I think that is because part of us as humans today has an innate desire to check things off the list. We want to be sure that we are doing it right, whatever it is, and so we create a list in order to make sure we get it done.

This idea then prompts a few questions: What kinds of lists are you making? What do they reveal about your goals? Your life journey?

Is my most important list the grocery list? My to do list?

What if I made  a list for characteristics I want to develop in myself? Instead of focusing on a list for 25 ways to please your man, what if my list was 25 ways to build the habit of kindness? 10 things to do to honor your family? 3 must-do’s in building responsibility?

I wonder what kind of world we would live in if our to do lists reflected a desire to improve our characters?

About epdwilliams

Junior High English Teacher The Westminster Schools
This entry was posted in A Sustainable Life, Pearls of Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

