A life lesson in losing

This blog post reminded me of the book Free Range Kids: How to Raise Safe, Self-Reliant Children that I wrote about earlier this month.  Most moms, faced with a child losing a book, might capitalize on the moment to teach “responsibility” by bringing on the guilt trip. “When you leave a place, you are supposed to make sure you have everything you brought with you. Did you do that?” “No, mommy.” “Well, this is what happens.” I can almost hear the disappointed tone.  But this mommy, well, she does it a little differently, and I like that. Teaching coping skills, teaching life lessons, and in a way, teaching responsibility as well.

Check it out:  Lessons in Losing Things

About epdwilliams

Junior High English Teacher The Westminster Schools
This entry was posted in Pearls of Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A life lesson in losing

  1. Thank you for linking to my post. I happen to be a big fan of Lenore Skenazy, so to have my blog uttered in the same space as her name appears is a thrill.

    She recently posted one of my bloggies on her site (I think back in early June about what age it is appropriate to leave children home alone. Wheeeee! Major traffic that day!

    I’ll look forward to reading your posts!

    xoxoRASJ

Leave a Reply

